Enabling Bridge Mode For SkyCable/SkyBroadband Technicolor Router

I have a very good home network setup that I spent a lot of time on to get working right, which includes a NAS and  two Raspberry Pis.

When I switched over to a 16Mbps SkyBroadband line, the technicians showed up with a Technicolor modem/router, to which their cable line attaches to. It’s supposed to serve as both a modem and a home router.IMG_20160621_1225582

The average person wouldn’t have had  a problem with this, but I did. I have a TP-Link router that I have set up with Bandwidth control rules, reserved DHCP addresses, DDNS, et cetera. Most of these are features that the basic Technicolor router SkyCable gave me doesn’t have. I have a separate Zyxel modem that I got from PLDT years ago that works wonderfully for me. That, I knew, I had to replace with the new modem/router, but I didn’t want to have to replace the TP-Link router with the inferior SkyCable Technicolor router.

 

The problem: How to set up the Technicolor router to act purely as a modem, a.k.a. Bridge mode or Passthrough Mode

The Technicolor router web interface is pretty sparse, and doesn’t mention a Bridge mode.

Searching the Internet returned only one answer:

http://en.librehat.com/blog/switch-upc-technicolor-tc7200-to-bridge-mode/

The instructions worked for me, and I will repeat them here for preservation purposes, and to make it easier for Filipinos to find.

I am a Linux user, so these instructions are for accomplishing the task using Linux tools/software.

We will need to do two things before we proceed with configuring the Technicolor into bridge mode:

  • Install the snmpset program (Provided by the “snmp” package for Debian/Ubuntu)
  • Connect via LAN cable to the Technicolor.

IMG_20160621_1226470

LAN Cable attached to SkyBroadband modem.

  1. Remove the co-ax cable from the router (bring it offline).
  2. Reboot the Technicolor TC7200.
  3. After router boot up, run command snmpset -v2c -c public 192.168.0.1 1.3.6.1.4.1.4413.2.2.2.1.7.1.1.0 i 1
  4. The modem should restart automatically (if not, restart it manually).
  5. After that, you can access Technicolor TC7200 web admin page through 192.168.100.1 instead of previous 192.168.0.1.

After the router reboots, obtain an Address from the Technicolor router via DHCP. You should now find that you have a public IP Address. If you do, that means that the reconfiguration into bridge mode went as expected, and you can now plug in that LAN cable to your original router’s (in my case, TP-Link) WAN port.

Check your router’s admin interface to verify that it now has a public IP address.

 

Most likely you are a non-Linux user; please refer to the original post to get instructions on what software to use for Windows; what you will be doing is just the same, only using different software for the same job.

Feel free to shoot me a question if you have any. 🙂

34 thoughts on “Enabling Bridge Mode For SkyCable/SkyBroadband Technicolor Router

  1. ito na pala sagot kaso hindi akosanay sa linux 🙂
    pwede ba dalhin ko modem dyan sa inyo para i bridge mode? 🙂

  2. To unlock ADVANCED setting of this router provide by Skycable, you need the super user access.
    input the following:

    username: mso
    password: $Kyc@B13

    it will allow you to enable the bridge mode also. 🙂
    hope it helps.

  3. I have the same model TC7200.d2 and ginwa ko rin ung exact steps pero after the reboot di ko na ma access ung admin page using 192.168.0.1 nor 192.168.100.1 any advise?

  4. @Jesrael
    To Switch TC7200.d2 by using super user mode of SkyCable

    username: mso
    password: $Kyc@B13

    go to Status\Switch Mode. Just select the switch mode drop down disabled. Then turn of the DHCP and Wifi.

    After modem reebot. Release/renew your IP address via command promt (Admin mode).

  5. Gud day Sir,

    I just called Sky cable, I had the same concern.
    I am a globe broadband user for 10yrs, sadly ngaun lang ako nag palit ng ISP.
    Ok nman ung wifi sa bahay nmin (2 story) kaso lang may data cap / day ang globe.
    pag palit ko ng Sky broadband (2weeks ago) ang hina ng coverage na wifi kahit sa kwarto hindi na abot.
    sabi ng sky ganun daw talaga, kaya I ask if I can connect a router dun sa modem nila.
    oo daw, unfortunately they will not assist me. I am planning to buy additional router but seeing your post will be of great help.
    I will try this, Ok lang ba sir macontact kayo for assistance / questions.

    Thanks.

  6. i have technicolor TC 7200.d1 modem plus router. But tis device doesnt show bridge mode, i want to connect it to my d link DIR 600M.

  7. Sir, i know this is 4 years ago. I am working on the same issue with skybroadband with their skyworth CM5100.g2 router. Does your instruction work for that modem also?

  8. I have no idea what these terms are but I’m going to ask my question anyway (in case same lang pala problem I am trying to fix.)

    I bought my own modem and router (Motorola MB7220) and (TP-LINK Archer A6). Ayoko rin sana yung Technicolor modem/router but every time I try to set up my modem, no internet connection kahit all green lights na yung modem. Any idea how to fix this?

    Thank you so much.

  9. I don’t know whether you’ll check this question. But anyway I will ask.
    I have the same technicolor router/modem thing at my home, provided by my broadband provider.
    I switched the service provider now and this router is just of no use to me, as I’m using a D-link router with new service provider.
    My question is, can I use this TC7200 as a repeater in LAN bridge mode, to extend my wifi range downstairs.
    I want to comnet a LAN cable from Dlink to TC7200 and disable DHCP here and let dlink handle it all. Is this possible?

  10. Can I use my spare TC7200 as a repeater to my Dlink router?
    This technicolor router was provided by my previous broadband provider.

Leave a comment